Geo W. Reed building: the main space and the upper room

I visited the Geo W. Reed building for the third time on a rainy morning to capture images for an experimentation on producing a HDR image from stitched panoramas. As the building was completely deserted, I took the opportunity to shoot pictures of the main space. During my first two visits, graffiti artists were busily redecorating that room and I withheld from shooting since they most probably do not want to have their likeness documented. I also visited a room sitting on the rooftop that I did not explore on previous trips. The repeated visits have highlighted the fact that wall art is ephemeral in nature as it constantly gets updated, modified or painted over. I could easily notice what mural is new and which was enhanced. This fact reinforces my desire to discover and explore more abandoned sites to document their current state.

I took a few series of pictures with progressively increasing exposure levels for subsequent into HDR images using tonemapping software.

As it was raining, water puddled in lots of places including the rooftop so that made for interesting reflection photo ops. This is my preferred shot from that quick outing.

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk II, Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L lens

One thought on “Geo W. Reed building: the main space and the upper room

Leave a Reply

