Cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges: homage to Buffy

I must confess: I am a huge closet Buffy fan! She’s so cool and she gets to patrol cemeteries after dark for a living. I decided to head to the Notre-Dame-des-Neiges cemetery, the largest in Canada, at dusk to capture a few pictures as an homage to Buffy. I got there at 16.40 and saw that the cemetery closes at 17.00. Unlike Buffy, I cannot jump 12 foot high wrought iron gates topped with 6 inch spikes and the last thing I wanted was to have to spend the night in a crypt as a shelter from the cold. I do not have the luxury of a Watcher to get me out of trouble… So the race was on as I had only 20 minutes or so to catch pictures of the sun setting on the cemetery.

Consequently, I did not venture very far from the cemetery gates and shot images at various exposure levels for HDR merging. Since the cemetery closes at the same hour all year round, I will go again in the dead of winter when sunset is much earlier so that I have more time to explore further from the entrance. The cemetery gates are located in a residential area and because all the shots were taken close to it, reflections of neighboring buildings are quite apparent in some of the tombstones. Not the effect I was looking for… By venturing further into the cemetery grounds, this can be avoided. Maybe I will scope it out during daylight hours to spot the most interesting locations.

I was able to set up and take three pictures, which are inserted in order they were taken. This is apparent in the rapidly darkening skies.

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk II, Canon EF 28-70mm f/2.8L lens

5 thoughts on “Cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges: homage to Buffy

Leave a Reply

