Cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges: angels in the outfield

I just acquired a Canon EF 135mm f/2L lens that I am planning to use mostly for concert photography. Since it is a well regarded lens for close-up portraits, I decided that I wanted to try it in out on models. I opted for a tour at the cemetery where models do not complain about the time it takes to apply makeup, and best of all, they work for free! Although I hauled about 6 more lenses, a flash and a tripod as a safety blanket (and for the extra workout), all pictures are taken with the 135 mm lens wide open, hand-held with available light (a bright cloudless day).

As I meandered through the cemetery, it seemed obvious that it would take me days to scour the entire grounds. All in all, I dug up (pun intended) enough subjects for the first test of my new toy within an hour walk or so. I used the many statues of angels and pensive ladies as subjects and tried to obtain a variety of images by changing angles and distances, and also by applying different post-processing treatments. While I was writing the last sentence, it occurred to me that I might be mildly dyslexic as I had difficulty differentiating  between the spelling of ”angels” and ”angles”. Actually, that prompted me to proof read again the text to make sure that I did not screw up on one of the instances of those words…

Although it’s been done to death (pun intended again), I added a selectively desaturated picture without model.

The ability of the lens to produce nice out of focus areas is definitely verified. In the picture with an angel on the cross, the trees are so out of focus that they create a really funky backdrop that I really like.

Here are a few of my favorite images from the shoot and I inserted a gallery at the end with many more pictures.

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk II, Canon EF 135 mm f/2L lens, RAW conversion with Adobe Lightroom 3.6

6 thoughts on “Cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges: angels in the outfield

    • Thanx. I certainly like the first set of pictures taken with it. Very nice lens: great ergonomics and fast AF + wide aperture and image quality. It is a bit specialized but well worth having.

  1. Yeah I like it. Not much of an action photography body though so I am waiting to see what becomes the top of the line Canon APS-C body (i.e. the long-awaited 7D Mk II) to see if I pick it up as a second body.

Leave a Reply

