When Nativity meets multimedia

Evangel_The_Hope_03430_108C3780

The Evangel Pentecostal Church produced a show titled The Singing Christmas Tree for 26 years as a Christmas tradition, well-attended and wildly popular in Montreal. This year, the Church has decided to break away from tradition and by designing and staging an entirely new multimedia, music and drama Christmas production titled The Hope. I have friends who belong to the Church’s community and knowing my interest in anything photo-related, invited me to produce a picture album of the event.

The production tells the Nativity story through alternating sub-scenes of drama, monologues, music with soloists accompanied or not by a choir and audio-video projections of prerecorded film material and images. Every portion blends seamlessly into the subsequent piece. The driving story line relates to a grandfather telling the Nativity story to his grand-kids as they join him one by one along with his own children who are facing different hurdles in life. Although I am not a religious, nor a spiritual person myself, I could appreciate the stunning visuals and the magnificent voices of the soloists. Within the first few measures, I was floored by the rendition of Gloria by Jennifer Meade. The production is truly world-class is every respect. I was amazed by the musical and dramatic talent of the community and I admire the will and efforts needed to make such an ambitious undertaking happen.

Since I was not familiar with the production nor the venue, I was invited to shoot the dress rehearsal, which I did. I also attended two shows on the same day. During the matinee, I shot from the front row and for the evening show, I parked myself on the mezzanine level to produce mostly the wide shots.

I am quite happy with the completeness and the variety of the results. As opposed to a concert, the stage setting changes constantly making it difficult to document everything from every angle and focal length. This can only be done by using multiple cameras and shooting at several showings, which I did. I think it is my most thorough photo album of an event. Maybe I should start thinking about shooting weddings? Not.

The gallery presents the pictures roughly in chronological order as the show proceeds and are taken from all three shooting sessions.

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk III, Canon DSLR 5D Mk II, Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L lens, Canon EF 28-70mm f/2.8L lens, Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 lens, Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX lens, Canon EF 135mm f/2L lens, Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8 EX lens, Canon 1.4x II extender, RAW conversion using Lightroom 4.1, all shot handheld

Evangel_The_Hope_01320_IMG_0363

Evangel_The_Hope_02130_108C4158

Evangel_The_Hope_03405_IMG_0279

Evangel_The_Hope_04750_108C3851

Evangel_The_Hope_04630_108C3815

Leave a Reply

