Montreal snowed under

IMG_1417-4

As DCMontreal noted in his early post, it is true that we get a lot of false alerts for extreme weather. Today, we were not disappointed. See the weather forecast in:

http://dcmontreal.wordpress.com/2012/12/27/forecasters-get-northeast-storm-warning-right-mother-natures-timing-is-great/#comment-1691

I left early this morning to snap a few pictures and to strategize about where to leave my car so it does not get snowed under during the storm. The problem with leaving your car on the street is that the snow plow comes by and essentially covers parked cars with snow. It takes hours to get out of the snow bank afterwards.

Driving around was much worse than I had envisioned as high winds generated snowdrifts, thoroughly reducing visibility. My rear window defroster could not keep up with the falling snow but thankfully, I had only to look forward really.

I took a few pictures around my area before deciding to head downtown. I went to pick up a buddy and managed to get stuck in a convenience store parking lot. The store crew along with my buddy managed to get me out of the snow bank and off we went. Thanx guys! Downtown there was a semblance of life as brave shoppers would be out and about. I even saw shoppers wearing ski masks to walk around! That’s Montreal for you!

It is very difficult to set the exposure for pictures in a snow storm. I shot everything at +2 EV and I still bumped up the exposure on some pictures at RAW conversion because the snow still looked greyish. Doing so, I think I lost some definition in the snow but I prefer that to non-white snow. To me, it looks more like what I experienced visually.

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk II, Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX DG lens, RAW conversion using Lightroom 4.1

9 thoughts on “Montreal snowed under

  1. We were not as hard hit in Ottawa, but I loved every minute of it! The only challenge…I had a job interview to drive to that day! Nothing like adding a little stress to the situation! Oh well…apres job interview…ski! Hehehe!

Leave a Reply

