The penultimate sunset of 2012 over Lac Saint-Louis

IMG_1509_10_11_12_13_14_15_tonemapped_V3

At a friend’s suggestion, I went yesterday to shoot a sunset along the Southwest shore of Montreal Island in Lachine. I happened upon Parc Saint-Louis which includes a jetty and a lighthouse. Parc Saint-Louis overlooks the eponymous lake, which is formed by the confluence of the St-Lawrence and Ottawa rivers.

When I left home, I looked up to the skies and the cloud cover looked promising. Unfortunately, when I got there, there were only very low lying clouds and the skies over the lake were almost devoid of clouds.

I got there about a half-hour before sunset and I alternated between shooting and finding refuge in the car from the cold and blowing winds for an hour or so. The shot I preferred has the sun sandwiched between the low clouds and the horizon. The jetty is nearly parallel to the shoreline. I excluded the shoreline from the right side of the picture so that the jetty looks more desolate. I used a wide angle to make the jetty appear somewhat longer than it is in reality.

I wish there were more clouds but now that I know the spot, I will come back for other pictures.

On that note, I wish a happy new year to all! Bonne année à toutes et tous!

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk II, Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L lens

Leave a Reply

