Upstaged and melancholic

Upstaged

Upstaged

Melancholic

Melancholic

I have started a photo project whereby I choose one word starting with each letter of the alphabet describing a feeling or state of mind. I call this project Inanimate objects have feelings too and it was launched with the following post:

https://sph3re.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/inanimate-objects-have-feelings-too-from-a-to-z-5-of-26/

I decided to use a trio of gerberas as actors. For Upstaged, I used a snoot directed at the pink gerbera as it looks more like a star with its multitude of petals. The red gerbera is only lit by whatever light is bouncing around. I was looking to segregate the  two flowers on stage through a large contrast in luminosity and focus.

For Melancholic, I shot a white gerbera and I gently bent its stem so its head would be facing downward. I gave it a soft focus treatment to achieve the look I wanted.

The gallery below includes the new additions. I am trying to keep a pace of 2 new images in this series every week. I have already formed some ideas for a few more weeks. After it might become more difficult to come up with new words and images. And I have yet to tackle any ”tough” letters. I guess it’s like Scrabble: I am waiting for a Triple Word to show up to place the Q and the Z!

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk II, Sigma 180mm f/3.5 EX macro lens, RAW conversion using Lightroom 4.1

5 thoughts on “Upstaged and melancholic

  1. Pingback: Inanimate objects have feelings too: ”Vain” (8 of 26) « SPH3RE

Leave a Reply

