Postcards from the City of Angels

Getty_IMG_7230

Getty_IMG_7248-2

I am currently in the Los Angeles for work after a most painful trip through the departure airport, Trudeau International in Montreal. The Monday morning security line is normally long, but this time is was insanely long due to pressure tactics by the airport screeners who are in labor negotiations. It took us about two and a half hours to go through the process from check-in to boarding the airplane and we barely made for the last boarding call. Otherwise, the flight was uneventful and the baggage claim / car rental pick-up at LAX surprisingly easy and fast.

In the absence of my personal laptop which I use to process images, I decided to post some pictures taken during my last trip in the area about a year ago. These are made at the Getty Center, which is an oasis of art and culture in the middle of a maze of highways. We spent the afternoon there but the most interesting shots are taken at dusk.

I hope to get the chance for some photography outing this weekend as during the work week, there is not much opportunity to do so. Los Angeles is somewhat daunting as it has so much to offer but at the same time, it is such a sprawling city that it is difficult to identify the most interesting areas off-hand. On one hand, I am tempted to go seaside but I am also intrigued by some of the architectural highlights of the city. There is also the classic Hollywood/Beverly Hills area out there. So much to do and so little time…

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk II, Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L lens, Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 DO IS lens

2 thoughts on “Postcards from the City of Angels

  1. Beautiful photos. I am an Angelino and the Getty is one of my favorite get-aways. I came here one Christmas eve, expecting that everyone else would be home entertaining family. I suppose the rest of Los Angeles had the same idea? But, I was rewarded by the twinkling lights of the city from the hilltop — the best Christmas lights ever.

    • Yes the Getty Center is an exceptional place both for its location and also for its exhibitions. Everytime I come to LA, I discover more of what it has to offer and it is such an interesting place. Great city! Thanx for dropping by mk!

Leave a Reply

