Put a lid on it: a collection of ceilings

Cathedral Mary Queen of the World, Montreal

Cathedral Mary Queen of the World, Montreal

Opera, Charlottenburg Palace, Berlin

Opera, Charlottenburg Palace, Berlin

Pantheon, Rome

Pantheon, Rome

St. Peters, Rome

St. Peters, Rome

Getty Center, Los Angeles

Getty Center, Los Angeles

National Museum of the American Indian, Washington DC

National Museum of the American Indian, Washington DC

As I enter a new space, I tend to gaze upwards and if I like what I see, I shoot a picture. However, these ceiling shots tend to remain unprocessed on my hard drive. I decided to dig through unused shots for a few ceiling images from various trips to make a collection.

The first is from the Mary Queen of the World Cathedral in Montreal. I used a linear fisheye and defished the image to make straight lines as straight as possible.

The second from the Opera room at the Charlottenburg Palace in Berlin is made through HDR processing from a single RAW file.

The third and fourth are too well-known ceilings in Rome.

The fifth is obviously taken using a circular fisheye at the Getty Center in Los Angeles.

Finally, for the sixth, I laid flat on my back and shot upwards at the National Museum of the American Indian ceiling on the Mall in Washington, DC.

2 thoughts on “Put a lid on it: a collection of ceilings

Leave a Reply

