Harnessing the wind on the Sunshine Coast

IMG_4905_-2_-3_-4_-5_tonemapped_B&W

IMG_4900_-2_-3_-4_-5_tonemapped_B&W_600px

I finally got around to process some images shot late last summer.

Right after the Ironman Canada event end of August 2012, we visited a friend who has been living on the Sunshine Coast, British Columbia, for quite a few years. Although it is a short ferry ride away from Vancouver, this part of the coast feels quite remote. It is lovely and quiet and in a few short days, we got acquainted with most of the drinkeries around Sechelt. I even got in my first round of golf ever late in the day, trying to complete the course before sundown while putting back beverages and driving the cart like madmen… Best round of golf ever! I do remember the stay on the Sunshine Coast to be a nice respite before the hustle and bustle of Vancouver.

We went for a short hike on a morning and after, I shot a few pictures of a lonely kitesurfer out there. To bring out texture in the skies, I processed multiple exposures from a single RAW file and merged them using an HDR software. The images are almost monochromatic except for the sail so they lend themselves naturally to B&W conversion. I like the tiered composition from skies, mountains, sea and beach on the first image.

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk II, Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS lens, RAW conversion using Lightroom 4.1

4 thoughts on “Harnessing the wind on the Sunshine Coast

  1. Wonderful photographs, we have a few wind surfers on the beach near me, I haven’t managed to capture them as yet with my new camera, hopefully I will have some (not as good as) but like these at some point.

    • Thanx Jo! I think that you overestimate the difficulty of capturing such images. It’s more about weather and having access to a telephoto than anything else. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

