Phil Wickham in Montreal concert

108C5539

108C5270_600px

The Evangel Pentecostal Church in Montreal held a special concert for Good Friday with recording artist Phil Wickham, a Christian vocalist and guitarist playing solo. I was offered the chance to shoot the concert.

Since the concert was held in a church, I was wondering whether it would be a sit-down event. That was answered quickly as the artist strummed the first few notes, people promptly came to the stage. Actually, I worked out because I could shoot from upfront without sticking out too much.

I used a variety of lenses but I prefer the 85mm and 135mm focal lengths when shooting from up close. The lighting was adequate to shoot in the ISO setting range of 400 to 1600 and I did not use noise reduction. I shot in Manual mode and kept the speed around 1/200s to get some movement out of the strumming hand.

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk III, Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L, Sigma 50mm f/1.4 EX, Sigma 85mm f/1.4 EX, Canon EF 135mm f/2L, Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8 EX IS, RAW conversion using Lightroom 4.1

2 thoughts on “Phil Wickham in Montreal concert

Leave a Reply

