Providence by night

Rhode Island State House

Rhode Island State House

IMG_9087_88_89_90_91_92_93_tonemapped

IMG_9101_2_3_4_5_tonemapped

I just came back from a road trip with friends to Rhode Island and Boston. Out first stop was in Providence, RI, and I took a few night shots. We first stopped at the Rhode Island State House, a magnificently lit building. We threw a frisbee around on the plaza just in front of the State House trying to get some action shots. After discovering that this was a fruitless effort as the disc is much to dim to register on the sensor, we went searching for a bar. We were recommended one that was conveniently close to the nice industrial building and bridge, which I shot as well.

I shot 7 pictures at varying exposure levels on tripod for each image. For the final merge, I used between 5 and 7 of the exposures.  I went for a painterly HDR look as all three images remind me of cinematographic scenes. I like the images but I will probably try other post-processing approaches as well to see if I can do different and still enjoy them.

Click on any of the images to view a larger and sharper version.

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk II, Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS lens

11 thoughts on “Providence by night

      • I am slightly “night blind” so focus is an issue for me. Of course, using a tripod is a must for shots like those, but I don’t seem to have mine at the right moment.

Leave a Reply

