Touring Boston and Harvard

IMG_9209_10_11_12_13_tone_crop

Harvard Yard

IMG_9165

Kristelle posing in front of the Widener Library

Last week, I drove down to Rhode Island and Boston with three friends on a good old-fashioned road trip. Four in a car and four in an hotel room, which felt at times like a college dorm complete with pillow fights. It was a great trip which included a tour of Fenway Park to see the Sox get destroyed by the New York Yankees. I was hoping for the locals to win but at least, I was satisfied with the obligatory ”A-Rod Steroids” chants…

On Saturday, we started the day in Cambridge to visit the Harvard Yard. I shot multiple exposures to produce the image above in a quiet corner of the Harvard Yard. I really wanted to get a picture of a building with ivy growing on the walls.

The Widener Library was anything but quiet. Its stairs were packed with people as graduates were getting a group picture which took forever to set up given the number of people involved. Since I could not get any shot of interest really, I asked a friend to pose in front of the library so I could frame some column heads and part of the frieze. I really like on the soft wind-assisted portrait came out.

After a late lunch, we followed the Freedom Trail from the Boston Common to the U.S.S. Constitution like hordes of tourists were. Boston is a really nice city and following the painted red line is a great way to tour around. What really caught my eye was the juxtaposition of old and new architecture so that’s what I mostly shot.

Because it was a very sunny day, I used HDR from a single RAW file for most of the images and converted to black & white. I inserted a gallery of all images. Click on any to see a larger and sharper version.

Equipment: Canon DSLR 5D Mk II, Canon EF 24-105mm f/4 IS lens, Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DO IS lens, RAW conversion using Lightroom 4.1

Leave a Reply

